Mummyhood

Why I chose to co-sleep

Hey,

So this is a very touchy topic to speak about as everyone has so many different opinions on what you should do with your own child! Any other parents out there find themselves being judged. Like seriously why don’t we just support each other?

I was judged with Emily and I let it bother me now I do what I want and I just don’t give a SHIT!! She is my child it is me who has to make the choices. I am also not afraid to ask other mummies advice. I may have already had one child but my second is so different in everything and yes I know the basics but there is no harm with getting advice when you aren’t sure.

Now I don’t really ask health professionals for help because I feel these are the most judgemental people you will ever meet. The majority live out of textbooks and practice like that. I am pretty sure half of them don’t even have children!

My reasons for co-sleeping are actually fairly basic. The first reason is ease of breastfeeding. I don’t even have to get out of bed it is great and Mia only wakes once in the night for a feed so this is so perfect for us and to coincide with that mummy gets more sleep so overall it is a happier process. I always put Mia right at the top of the bed away from duvets and pillows. Currently she can’t roll but she enjoys being close. So overall we all get more sleep.

My 1st daughter Emily co-slept till she was one and then easily just went into her toddler bed in our room and hasn’t had a problem since. So it doesn’t make a rod for you own back by co-sleeping. You as their parent will know when they are ready to move into their own bed, Emily became independent on her own I did not have to force her to do anything.

Thanks for reading our story.

S.Xo

Leave a comment